Photograph Album and History of
Original Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny, Pennsylvania
(From 1956 to 2006 known as the Allegheny Regional Branch,
The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh)
Regarding the Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny /
Former Allegheny Regional Branch, The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Walsh, Glenn A.
"Carnegie Library Bldg. May Be Reused by Children's Museum." Blog Post.
SpaceWatchtower 2013 Sept. 3.
The Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, which started in 1983 in the basement of the
Old Allegheny Post Office, later occupied the entire post office building, and expanded into the original
Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science in 2004, is now considering the possibility of offering programming in the
building that formerly held the Allegheny Regional Branch of The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (the first publicly-funded Carnegie Library in America), in historic
Allegheny Square on the Lower North Side of Pittsburgh.
* 2007 Dec. 2 - NEW WEB SITE:
Website for and by patrons of the
Allegheny Regional Branch
of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
To restore library service in America's first
publicly funded Carnegie Library !!!
Historic Carnegie Library Clock Tower
Struck by Lightning 2006 April 7 !
Historical Significance of the
History Timeline of the Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny /
Allegheny Regional Branch of
The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
(Originally the Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny)
Allegheny Regional Branch, Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
History of Buhl Planetarium ***
Allegheny Public Square
Photographs of the Allegheny Regional Branch, The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
The following are photographs of the first tax-supported Carnegie
Library in the Americas (second in the world--first in the world was
Victoria Library in Grangemouth, Scotland), dedicated by U.S. President Benjamin Harrison on
1890 February 20. Originally known as the Carnegie Free Library of
Allegheny, it is now the Allegheny
Regional Branch of The
Library of Pittsburgh located at 5 Allegheny Square in the Allegheny
Center section of Pittsburgh's Lower North Side. This section of the North Side is where Andrew Carnegie spent much of his youth, and it is where he met his mentor, Col. James Anderson, who built the city's first public library. In 1904, Andrew Carnegie had a
memorial to Col. Anderson constructed (by architect Henry Bacon and sculptor Daniel Chester French, who had collaborated on the Lincoln Memorial on the Washington Mall) adjacent to the Library building, at the corner of Federal Street and East Ohio Street (today, this memorial sits near Pittsburgh's original
Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science building, directly across the way from the Allegheny Regional Branch Library entrance). The Library building (including the adjoining
Carnegie Hall) was designed and built by Smithmeyer and Pelz, the architects of the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.
With construction of the Library, Andrew Carnegie also constructed the world's first Carnegie Hall (built one year before the public opening of Carnegie Hall in New York City), adjoining the Library building just east of the Library section of the building (located at 6 Allegheny Square). Carnegie Hall was completely renovated in the 1970s and the interior performance space was dedicated as the Theodore Hazlett Theatre on 1980 December 15. From 1974-1999 it was the home of the Pittsburgh Public Theater; after twenty-four years, on 1999 December 11, the
Pittsburgh Public Theater began a new era of performances (with the world
premiere of August Wilson's "King Hedley II") in the O'Reilly
Theater (named for the former Chief Executive Officer of the Heinz
Corporation), on Penn Avenue, across from Heinz Hall, in the Downtown
Cultural District. After a year-long, $2 million rehabilitation, the performance space inside Carnegie Hall was re-dedicated, during the weekend of 2006 September 15, 16, and 17, as the
New Hazlett Theater, to be used by several small and mid-size community, performing arts groups.
Link from Carnegie Library Official Web Site:
Web-Site of The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, Allegheny Branch (new building at 1230 Federal Street)
Construction Blueprints for Renovations to the
Ground Level - Includes present-day Senior Citizen Center with Elevator to Library (.pdf document: 755 kb)
Allegheny Regional Branch, The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
1972 March 17:
Level 1 - First Floor of Library and Carnegie Hall (New Hazlett Theater) (.pdf document: 777 kb)
Level 1M - Library First Floor Balcony (.pdf document: 535 kb)
Level 2 - Library Second Floor (.pdf document: 493 kb)
Level 2M - Library Second Floor Balcony; includes Third Floor Lecture Hall/Community Room (.pdf document: 615 kb)
Roof Plan Details (.pdf document: 436 kb)
Exterior Elevations: East, North (.pdf document: 388 kb)
RE-USE STUDY for the FORMER CARNEGIE LIBRARY BUILDING
Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny - 2010 May 20
The following are photographs of the stone facade of the Allegheny
Regional Branch of The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh. Photograph 1 shows
the Library entrance to the Allegheny Regional Branch. Photograph 2 shows
the name "Carnegie Free Library" engraved in the stone. Photographs 3 and
4 show "Carnegie Hall," the Music Hall entrance to the building, which now includes the
New Hazlett Theater; a Lecture
Hall is located on the Library's third floor. Photographs 5, 6, and 7 show the Library's Clocktower;
in the foreground of photograph 7 is Sidney Waugh's sculpture, "The
on the front of The Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular
Science[located across the pedestrian mall(formerly Federal Street) from
Photo 1 (1)***Photo
Photo 5 (1)***Photo
Photographs of the Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny from
Colonel James Anderson Memorial and Book
As a young boy, in 1848, Andrew Carnegie immigrated with his family
Dunfermline, Scotland to
Allegheny City, Pennsylvania, located just across the Allegheny River from
Downtown Pittsburgh. At this time, Pittsburgh and Allegheny City had no
public libraries; Andrew and his family were too poor to purchase books.
One day, Andrew read, in the local newspaper, that an Allegheny City
businessman and iron manufacturer, Colonel James Anderson, was starting to
open his 400-volume private library to the public each Saturday afternoon;
Colonel Anderson served as the librarian. Andrew was overjoyed and read
most books in this library. Colonel Anderson was so gratified by the
public response to the opening of his private library to the public, he
donated money to begin a public library in Allegheny City. Andrew
Carnegie never forgot Colonel Anderson's generosity; when Andrew
became wealthy, he decided that he would also donate money to open public
Photographs 1 through 4 show views of the Memorial to honor
Anderson, officially titled "Labor," which Andrew Carnegie had
close to the Carnegie Free
Library of Allegheny(now the Allegheny Regional Branch of The Carnegie
Library of Pittsburgh), at the corner of Federal and East Ohio Streets in
This Memorial was dismantled in the 1960s, to
allow for the conversion of Federal Street and East Ohio Street to
pedestrian malls as part of the Allegheny Center urban renewal project. A
community effort led to the reconstruction of this
Memorial across the Federal Street pedestrian mall from the Allegheny
Regional Branch, next to The Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular
Science; the memorial was rededicated May 15, 1988. Photograph 3 shows the
bust, of Colonel Anderson, while
photograph 4 shows "The Reading Blacksmith," both part of the
Photographs 5 through 8 show some of the original books from Colonel
Anderson's library; these books are now kept in a special collection in
the Allegheny Regional Branch.
Photograph 9 shows the former home of Colonel James Anderson,
which is now a personal care home for senior citizens known as "Anderson
Manor." Colonel Anderson's private library was opened to the public each
Saturday afternoon; Colonel Anderson served as the librarian. Andrew
Carnegie was one of the working boys of Allegheny City, who regularly
visited this library.
Photo 1 (1)***Photo
***Photo 5 (1)
***Photo 8 (1)
***Photo 9 (1)
Photographs of the Colonel James Anderson Memorial
in its original location at the corner of Federal and East Ohio Streets,
"Manchester tour to include home of early iron manufacturer."
TribLive.com: Tribune-Review, Pittsburgh 2017 Aug. 3.
This year's tour starts at Col. James Anderson House, 1423 Liverpool St., the former home of a successful early iron manufacturer who had the house built for his wife in 1830 in the Greek Revival style.
Martin Fuess, tour organizer, says Anderson amassed a sizable personal library in excess of 400 volumes and opened his library to local youth. By 1850, he moved his collection to the James Anderson Library Institute of Allegheny in Allegheny City.
One of the young men who used this new free library was Pittsburgh icon Andrew Carnegie, Fuess says. “Carnegie was so affected by his mentor's benefactions that he followed his example in later life by funding construction of the Carnegie Institute.”
“In 2016, the Manchester Historic Society acquired the property and plans to restore the core of the house to its early 19th-century grandeur, replicate Anderson's library, and honor his legacy by opening the home to the community,” Fuess says.
"Steelers' Rooney remembered fondly by his beloved North Side."
TribLive.com: Tribune-Review, Pittsburgh 2017 April 14.
Pittsburgh Steelers' Chairman Dan Rooney died on 2017 April 13 at age 84.
Rooney was so proud of his neighborhood that, earlier this decade, he co-authored a book with local historian Carol
Peterson titled, “Allegheny City: A History of Pittsburgh's North Side.” Rooney was deeply involved in efforts to
preserve the North Side's history, neighbors said.
After Glenn A. Walsh notified Carnegie Library (by electronic mail on 2007 March 6) that the explanatory plate of the
Colonel James Anderson Memorial (gifted by Andrew Carnegie in 1904) was missing, later on Dan Rooney paid to
replace this explanatory plate. In 1988, this memorial had been reassembled and rededicated across from the
entrance to the Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny, on the east lawn of Pittsburgh's original Buhl Planetarium and
Institute of Popular Science.
Photographs of the Carnegie Free Library of
and the Colonel James Anderson Memorial in 1937
All seven images show the Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny and
Colonel James Anderson Memorial on April 23, 1937. The first five images
show the Library and Memorial; the last two images are close-up views of
the Anderson Memorial. These images show the Colonel James Anderson
Memorial in its original location, at the corner of Federal and East
Ohio Streets next to the Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny. These images
are from photographs taken
by S.J. Link of Pittsburgh's Beaudry Studio; the photographs were taken to
document the former Allegheny City Hall(prior to its demolition) and the
construction of The Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular
Science(across Federal Street from the Library). Click
here to see images of the Library with the former Allegheny City
Hall and the construction of the Buhl Planetarium building.
Image 1 (4)***Image
***Image 5 (4)
More History of the
History of the Lower North Side of Pittsburgh
Allegheny Regional Branch,
Branch Library Web Site
Web Site of the Allegheny
Preserving, promoting, and interpreting the history of Allegheny City and
Pittsburgh's North Side
* 2006 July 13 -
Port Authority Board of Directors approves "North Shore Connector" rapid transit extension
project, to serve Pittsburgh's Lower North Side.
Pittsburgh's Lower North Side, originally Allegheny City,
is home to
America's first publicly-funded Carnegie Library and the
world's first Carnegie Hall, Pittsburgh's original
Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science (which merged with
Carnegie Institute in 1987),
and it is the neighborhood where Andrew Carnegie grew-up.
Historic Carnegie Library Clock Tower Struck by Lightning 2006 April 7 !
Photographs with Number (1): © Copyright 1999
Lynne S. Comunale, All Rights Reserved.
Andrew Carnegie Free Library History Cover
History of the Andrew Carnegie
Information about the Andrew
Return to News Release - March 17,
Library Legally Established 100 Years Ago by Andrew Carnegie.
Return to Archives: News and Events of
Return to Archives: News and Events.
Return to News and Events.
Return to Andrew Carnegie Free
Last modified : Saturday, 05-Aug-2017 02:26:08 EDT.
This World Wide Web Site Administered by
Glenn A. Walsh.
Unless otherwise indicated, all web pages in this account are © Copyright
1998-2013, Glenn A. Walsh, All Rights Reserved.
Additions and corrections to: