Statement before                             Glenn A. Walsh

Allegheny County                           P.O. Box 1041

Council:                                              Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15230-1041 U.S.A.

Discount Transit             Telephone: 412-561-7876

Fares in Jan. For            Electronic Mail: < >

Non-County Riders         Internet Web Site: < >

                                                                          2009 November 17


Good evening. I am Glenn A. Walsh of 633 Royce Avenue, Mt. Lebanon, a regular Light Rail and bus rider who has chosen not to drive a motor vehicle since 1985, to help save energy, protect the environment, and reduce city traffic congestion.


Due to the Port Authority fare changes, which will take effect in January, PAT riders outside of Allegheny County, WHO DO NOT PAY ALLEGHENY COUNTY TAXES, will actually get a fare reduction of fifty cents per ride, while the zone one fare remains at two dollars and all other Allegheny County fares, passes, and tickets are increased in price!


This is due to the fact that PAT has chosen to completely eliminate Zone Three fares, which affect only riders outside of Allegheny County. Zone Three riders will now pay Zone Two fares. The current Zone Three fare is $3.25, and the new Zone Two fare beginning in January is $2.75.


This is a slap in the face to county residents who choose to stay in Allegheny County and support their county transit authority. PAT receives no funding from transit authorities in outlying counties.


PAT claims that this will reduce spending for the printing of tickets and passes for Zone Three riders. However, next year PAT plans to implement a smart-card system, which will replace transit passes and tickets. Hence, the cost of this printing would be eliminated anyway!


It is not too late to have PAT change this fare policy. I urge you to stand-up for Allegheny County residents and demand that transit fares for out-of-county residents be increased proportional to the increases in transit fares for county residents!


Thank you.